Airfix Scharnhorst

If it goes on or under the wet stuff and doesn't fly, it's in here.
Gallifrean12
starter kit

Airfix Scharnhorst

Post by Gallifrean12 »

Can anyone please tell me what the difference is with the admiral's bridge on the scharnhorst kit as the one I have made from airfix does not seem to match other images showing an enclosed bridge ?

Many thanks

DavidWomby
Modelling Gent and Scholar

Re: Airfix Scharnhorst

Post by DavidWomby »

I am no ship expert but a quick search has found me lots of photos of the Scharnhorst Admiral's Bridge looking like your upper photo. This one, for example, from Wikipedia

Perhaps it was altered later in her service life?

David
Gallifrean12
starter kit

Post by Gallifrean12 »

Hi David,

Thank you for your message, it would follow, what is interesting is, on Wikipedia it states about some modifications being made in 1939 but it does not go into much detail so maybe when that when the admiral's bridge was changed ? Perhaps a book on it may hold the clue ?
DavidWomby

Post by DavidWomby »

I haven't read this but here's a profile on Scharnhorst and Gneisenau.

https://boxartden.com/reference/gallery ... -Gneisenau

David
Gallifrean12
starter kit

Post by Gallifrean12 »

Thanks David, that is really helpful, will have a good read through.

Kind regards

Matt
KellerModeller
The Bug Has Well And Truly Bitten

Post by KellerModeller »

Maybe the version in the 2nd picture is the result of mis-interpreting the 1st picture version when using reference pictures that are showing it from below. Due to the ships size, most closer pictures of the bridge would be from below... 🤔
I like to carve old kits into something roughly aircraft/tank shaped... :grin:
Ratch

Post by Ratch »

Here are some notes I made when I built the Airfix Scharnhorst. They don't answer your question, but you may find little clues.